The Long Season of Rain

By Helen Kim

Original Publisher: Henry Holt & Co.
Current Publisher: Out of Print
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 12 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Carolyn Coman for What Jamie Saw
  • Nancy Farmer for A Girl Named Disaster
  • Helen Kim for The Long Season of Rain
  • Han Nolan for Send Me Down a Miracle

YPL Winner That Year: Victor Martinez, Parrot in the Oven: Mi Vida

Judges That Year: Lloyd Alexander, Leonard Marcus, Gary Soto, Beatrice Sparks, Joyce Carol Thomas

The Year in Literature: The Midwife's Apprentice by Karen Cushman won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: The Long Season of Rain was Helen Kim’s first and, thus far, only published book.

Buy the Book: