By Walter Dean Myers

Original & Digital Publisher: HarperCollins
Current Publisher: Amistad (HarperCollins)

Reading Level: Ages 13 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Laurie Halse Anderson for Speak
  • Louise Erdrich for The Birchbark House
  • Polly Horvath for The Trolls
  • Walter Dean Myers for Monster

YPL Winner That Year: Kimberly Willis Holt for When Zachary Beaver Came to Town

Judges That Year: Veronica Chambers, Mary Ann McGuigan, Hazel Rochman, Zena Sutherland, Roger Sutton

The Year in Literature: Holes by Louis Sachar won the Newbery Medal. 

More Information: 

  • In 2012, Walter Dean Myers was named the national ambassador for young people’s literature. For two years, he will act as a leader in the children’s book world, touring the country and speaking at schools and libraries about the importance of reading and literacy.
  • Myers was also a Finalist in 2005 for Autobiography of My Dead Brother and in 2010 for Lockdown.  

Buy the Book: