The Book of the Lion

By Michael Cadnum

Original Publisher: Viking (Penguin Group USA Inc.)
Current & Digital Publisher: Puffin

Reading Level: Ages 12 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Adam Bagdasarian for Forgotten Fire
  • Michael Cadnum for The Book of the Lion
  • Carolyn Coman for Many Stones
  • Jerry Stanley for Hurry Freedom: African Americans in Gold Rush California

YPL Winner That Year: Gloria Whelan for Homeless Bird

Judges That Year: Khafre Abif, Kathleen Burke, Brock Cole, Norma Fox Mazer, Lois Metzger Hiss

The Year in Literature: Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis won the Newbery Medal. Monster by Walter Dean Myers was the first recipient of the Printz Award.

More Information: Cadnum has said of the power of writing, Our souls are too often like… illusions kept trapped in silence. But through language in an instant we can discover, on the blank of the page, or the glossy void of the computer screen, a secret that can give us life.”

Buy the Book: