Homeless Bird

By Gloria Whelan

Current & Digital Publisher: HarperCollins

 Reading Level: Ages 8 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Adam Bagdasarian for Forgotten Fire
  • Michael Cadnum for The Book of the Lion
  • Carolyn Coman for Many Stones
  • Jerry Stanley for Hurry Freedom: African Americans in Gold Rush California

YPL Winner That Year: Gloria Whelan for Homeless Bird

Judges That Year: Khafre Abif, Kathleen Burke, Brock Cole, Norma Fox Mazer, Lois Metzger Hiss

The Year in Literature: Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis won the Newbery Medal. Monster by Walter Dean Myers was the first recipient of the Printz Award.

More Information: Gloria Whelan is also a writer of short stories for adults. Her stories have appeared in such journals as The Gettysburg Review, The Michigan Quarterly, and The Missouri Review, and have been nominated for multiple Pushcart Prizes.

Buy the Book: