By Jacqueline Woodson

Original Publisher: Puffin
Current & Digital Publisher: Speak (Penguin Group USA Inc.)

Reading Level: Ages 12 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Paul Fleischman for Breakout
  • Jim Murphy for An American Plague: The True and Terrifying Story of the Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1793
  • Richard Peck for The River Between Us
  • Jacqueline Woodson for Locomotion

YPL Winner That Year: Polly Horvath for The Canning Season

Judges That Year: Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Lulu Delacre, Jean Craighead George, Barbara Harrison, Margaret Tice

The Year in Literature: Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi won the Newbery Medal. Postcards from No Man’s Land by Aidan Chambers won the Printz Award.

More Information: Woodson was previously a Finalist in 2002 for Hush.

Buy the Book: