Where I Want to Be

By Adele Griffin

Original Publisher: Putnam (Penguin Group USA Inc.)
Current & Digital Publisher: Speak (Penguin Group USA Inc.)

Reading Level: Ages 12 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Adele Griffin for Where I Want to Be
  • Chris Lynch for Inexcusable
  • Walter Dean Myers for Autobiography of My Dead Brother
  • Deborah Wiles for Each Little Bird That Sings

YPL Winner That Year: Jeanne Birdsall for The Penderwicks

Judges That Year: Mari Evans, Claudia Mills, Jim Murphy, Liz Rosenberg, Rita Williams-Garcia

The Year in Literature: Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata won the Newbery Medal. How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff won the Printz Award.

More Information: 

  • Adele Griffin was previously a Finalist in 1997 for Sons of Liberty.
  • Adele Griffin’s great-grandmother was pen pals with Margaret Mitchell, author of Gone with the Wind. Griffin keeps their correspondence in her writing desk and re-reads the letters for inspiration. 

Buy the Book: