Charles and Emma: The Darwins' Leap of Faith

By Deborah Heiligman

Original Publisher: Henry Holt & Co.
Current Publisher: Squarefish (Macmillan)
Digital Publisher: Henry Holt & Co.

Reading Level: Ages 13 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Deborah Heiligman for Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith
  • David Small for Stitches
  • Laini Taylor for Lips Touch: Three Times
  • Rita Williams-Garcia for Jumped

YPL Winner That Year: Phillip Hoose for Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice

Judges That Year: Kathi Appelt, Coe Booth, Carolyn Coman, Nancy Werlin, Gene Luen Yang

The Year in Literature: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman won the Newbery Medal.  Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta won the Printz Award.

More Information: Charles and Emma was awarded the first ever YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults. It was also a Printz Honor Book and a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for young adult literature. 

Buy the Book: