Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice

By Phillip Hoose

Original Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Current Publisher: Squarefish (Macmillan)
Digital Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Reading Level: Ages 10 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Deborah Heiligman for Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith
  • David Small for Stitches
  • Laini Taylor for Lips Touch: Three Times
  • Rita Williams-Garcia for Jumped

YPL Winner That Year: Phillip Hoose for Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice

Judges That Year: Kathi Appelt, Coe Booth, Carolyn Coman, Nancy Werlin, Gene Luen Yang

The Year in Literature: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman won the Newbery Medal.  Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta won the Printz Award.

More Information: Hoose was previously a National Book Award Finalist in 2001 for We Were There, Too! Young People in U.S. History.

Buy the Book: