By Vera and Bill Cleaver

Original Publisher: J.B. Lippincott Company
Current Publisher: Out of Print
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Not Available

Children’s Books Finalists That Year:

  • Vera and Bill Cleaver for Grover
  • Paula Fox for Blowfish Live in the Sea
  • Arnold Lobel for Frog and Toad Are Friends
  • E.B. White for The Trumpet of the Swan

Children’s Books Winner That Year: Lloyd Alexander for The Marvelous Misadventures of Sebastian

Judges That Year: B.J. Chute, Helen Jones, Lillian Gerhardt

The Year in Literature: The Summer of the Swans by Betsy Byars won the Newbery Medal.

More Information:

  • The Cleavers met when Bill was serving in the U.S. Air Force. Together they wrote more than a dozen children’s books until Bill’s death in 1981. Vera has continued to write children’s books on her own.
  • The Cleavers were also Finalists in 1970 for Where the Lilies Bloom, in 1974 for The Whys and Wherefores of Littabelle Lee, and in 1979 for Queen of Hearts.

 Buy the Book: