The Trumpet of the Swan

By E.B. White

Current Publisher: HarperCollins
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 8 & Up

Children’s Books Finalists That Year:

  • Vera and Bill Cleaver for Grover
  • Paula Fox for Blowfish Live in the Sea
  • Arnold Lobel for Frog and Toad Are Friends
  • E.B. White for The Trumpet of the Swan

Children’s Books Winner That Year: Lloyd Alexander for The Marvelous Misadventures of Sebastian

Judges That Year: B.J. Chute, Helen Jones, Lillian Gerhardt

The Year in Literature: The Summer of the Swans by Betsy Byars won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: 

  • White was also a Finalist for the National Book Award in Nonfiction in 1955 for The Second Tree From the Corner and for Biography and Autobiography in 1977 for The Letters of E.B. White.
  • In 1978, White won an honorary Pulitzer Prize for his essays, letters, and “the full body of his work.”
Buy the Book: