The Planet of Junior Brown

By Virginia Hamilton

Original Publisher: Macmillan
Current Publisher: Aladdin Books (Simon & Schuster)
Digital Publisher: Open Road Integrated Media

Reading Level: Ages 8 & Up

Children’s Books Finalists That Year:

  • Jan Adkins for The Art and Industry of Sandcastles
  • John Donovan for Wild in the World
  • Virginia Hamilton for The Planet of Junior Brown
  • June Jordan for His Own Where
  • Ursula K. Le Guin for The Tombs of Atuan
  • Robert C. O’Brien for Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh
  • Cheli Duran Ryan for Hildilid’s Night
  • Marilyn Sachs for The Bears’ House
  • William Steig for Amos & Boris
  • Clyde Watson for Father Fox’s Pennyrhymes

Children’s Books Winner That Year: Donald Barthelme for The Slightly Irregular Fire Engine or The Hithering Thithering Djinn

Judges That Year: Paul Heins, Lore Segal, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature: Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh by Robert C. O’Brien won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: 

  • Virginia Hamilton was also a Finalist in 1983 for Sweet Whispers, Brother Rush. She won the National Book Award for Children’s Books in 1975 for M.C. Higgins the Great.
  • Over the course of her career, Hamilton was awarded the Coretta-Scott King Award, the Boston-Globe Horn Award, the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, and many others.

Buy  the Book: