The House of Wings

By Betsy Byars

Original Publisher: Viking (Penguin Group USA Inc.)
Current & Digital Publisher: Open Road Integrated Media

Reading Level: Not Available

Children’s Books Finalists That Year:

  • Betsy Byars for The House of Wings
  • Ingri and Edgar Parin d'Aulaire for Trolls
  • Jean Craighead George for Julie of the Wolves
  • Betty Jean Lifton and Thomas C. Fox for Children of Vietnam
  • Georgess McHargue for The Impossible People
  • Zilpha Keatley Snyder for The Witches of Worm
  • William Steig for Dominic

Children’s Books Winner That Year: Ursula K. Le Guin for The Farthest Shore

Judges That Year: Augusta Baker, Ian McDermott, Barbara Wersba

The Year in Literature: Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George won the Newbery Medal.

More Information:

  • Byars has been writing since 1962, and her books have been translated into more than nineteen languages. She won the Newbery Medal in 1971 for her novel The Summer of the Swans.
  • Byars won the National Book Award for Children’s Books in 1981 for The Night Swimmers.

Buy the Book: