The Devil’s Storybook

By Natalie Babbitt

Original Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Current Publisher: Only Available Digitally
Digital Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Giroux

Reading Level: Ages 8 & Up

Children’s Books Finalists That Year:

  • Natalie Babbitt for The Devil's Storybook
  • Bruce Buchenholz for Doctor in the Zoo
  • Bruce Clements for I Tell a Lie Every So Often
  • James Lincoln Collier and Christopher Collier for My Brother Sam Is Dead
  • Jason Laure and Ettagale Laure for Joi Bangla! The Children of Bangladesh
  • Milton Meltzer for World of Our Fathers
  • Milton Meltzer for Remember the Days
  • Adrienne Richard for Wings
  • Mary Stolz for The Edge of Next Year
  • Jane Yolen for The Girl Who Cried Flowers and Other Tales  

Children’s Books Winner That Year: Virginia Hamilton for M.C. Higgins the Great

Judges That Year: Lloyd Alexander, Betsy Hearne, Nat Hentoff

The Year in Literature: M.C. Higgins the Great by Virginia Hamilton also won the Newbery Medal.

More Information:

  • In 1977, The New York Times called Babbitt "indisputably one of our most gifted and ambitious writers for children.”
  • In 2002, Babbitt’s book Tuck Everlasting was made into a movie starring Alexis Bledel, Jonathan Jackson, Ben Kingsley, and Sissy Spacek.

Buy the Book: