Hew Against the Grain

By Betty Sue Cummings

Original Publisher: Atheneum (Simon & Schuster)
Current Publisher: Out of Print
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Not Available

Children’s Literature Finalists That Year:

  • Betty Sue Cummings for Hew Against the Grain 
  • Ilse Koehn for Mischling, Second Degree
  • David McCord for One at a Time
  • William Steig for Caleb & Kate

Children’s Literature Winner That Year: Judith and Herbert Kohl for The View from the Oak

Judges That Year: Charlotte Blount, Milton Meltzer, Elizabeth Gray Vining

The Year in Literature: Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: Aside from writing and teaching, Cummings served with the U.S. Coast Guard from 1942 to 1945.

Buy the Book: