Caleb & Kate

By William Steig

Current Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 4 & Up

Children’s Literature Finalists That Year:

  • Betty Sue Cummings for Hew Against the Grain 
  • Ilse Koehn for Mischling, Second Degree
  • David McCord for One at a Time
  • William Steig for Caleb & Kate

Children’s Literature Winner That Year: Judith and Herbert Kohl for The View from the Oak

Judges That Year: Charlotte Blount, Milton Meltzer, Elizabeth Gray Vining

The Year in Literature: Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: 

  • William Steig won the National Book Award for Children’s Picture Books (Hardcover) for Doctor De Soto in 1983. He was also a Finalist in 1970 for Sylvester and the Magic Pebble, in 1972 for Amos & Boris, and in 1973 for Dominic.
  • Steig’s 1990 picture book Shrek! was the basis of the widely successful Dreamworks film “Shrek.” 

Buy the Book: