The Great Gilly Hopkins

By Katherine Paterson

Current & Digital Publisher: HarperCollins

Reading Level: Ages 8 & Up

Children’s Literature Finalists That Year:

  • Lloyd Alexander for The First Two Lives of Lukas-Kasha
  • Vera and Bill Cleaver for Queen of Hearts
  • Sid Fleischman for Humbug Mountain
  • Paula Fox for The Little Swineherd and Other Tales

Children’s Literature Winner That Year: Katherine Paterson for The Great Gilly Hopkins

Judges That Year: Eleanor Cameron, Robert Coles, Priscilla Moxom

The Year in Literature: The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin won the Newbery Medal.

More Information:  

  • Paterson also won the National Book Award for Children’s Literature in 1977 for the hardcover edition of The Master Puppeteer.  She was a Finalist in 1980 for the paperback edition of The Great Gilly Hopkins, in 1981 for the hardcover edition of Jacob Have I Loved, and in 1982 for the paperback editions of both Jacob Have I Loved and The Master Puppeteer.
  • In 2014 The Great Gilly Hopkins will be turned into a movie starring Kathy Bates and Danny Glover.  The screenplay was written by Paterson’s son, David Paterson.

Buy the Book: