1980 - Children’s Books (Paperback)

Alan and Naomi

By Myron Levoy

Original Publisher: Harper & Row
Current Publisher: Backinprint.com (a program of the Authors Guild)
Digital Publisher: A.J. Cornell Publications

Reading Level: Ages 10 & Up

Children’s Books (Paperback) Finalists That Year:

  • Myron Levoy for Alan and Naomi
  • Arnold Lobel for Frog and Toad Are Friends
  • Katherine Paterson for The Great Gilly Hopkins
  • Maurice Sendak for Higglety Pigglety Pop! or There Must Be More to Life

Children’s Books (Paperback) Winner That Year: Madeleine L'Engle for A Swiftly Tilting Planet

Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature: A Gathering of Days: A New England Girl's Journal, 1830-32 by Joan W. Blos won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: In 1992, Alan and Naomi was made into an award-winning movie starring Lukas Haas.

Buy the Book: