Amos & Boris

By William Steig

Original Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Current Publisher: Squarefish (Macmillan)
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 5 & Up

Children’s Books Finalists That Year:

  • Jan Adkins for The Art and Industry of Sandcastles
  • John Donovan for Wild in the World
  • Virginia Hamilton for The Planet of Junior Brown
  • June Jordan for His Own Where
  • Ursula K. Le Guin for The Tombs of Atuan
  • Robert C. O’Brien for Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh
  • Cheli Duran Ryan for Hildilid’s Night
  • Marilyn Sachs for The Bears’ House
  • William Steig for Amos & Boris
  • Clyde Watson for Father Fox’s Pennyrhymes

Children’s Books Winner That Year: Donald Barthelme for The Slightly Irregular Fire Engine or The Hithering Thithering Djinn

Judges That Year: Paul Heins, Lore Segal, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature: Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh by Robert C. O’Brien won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: 

  • William Steig was also a Finalist in 1970 for Sylvester and the Magic Pebble, in 1973 for Dominic, and in 1978 for Caleb & Kate. He won the National Book Award for Children’s Books in 1983for Doctor De Soto.
  • Steig’s 1990 picture book Shrek! was the basis of the widely successful Dreamworks film “Shrek.

Buy the Book: