Father Fox’s Pennyrhymes

By Clyde Watson

Original Publisher: T.Y. Crowell & Co.
Current Publisher: Out of Print
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 5 & Up

Children’s Books Finalists That Year:

  • Jan Adkins for The Art and Industry of Sandcastles
  • John Donovan for Wild in the World
  • Virginia Hamilton for The Planet of Junior Brown
  • June Jordan for His Own Where
  • Ursula K. Le Guin for The Tombs of Atuan
  • Robert C. O’Brien for Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh
  • Cheli Duran Ryan for Hildilid’s Night
  • Marilyn Sachs for The Bears’ House
  • William Steig for Amos & Boris
  • Clyde Watson for Father Fox’s Pennyrhymes

Children’s Books Winner That Year: Donald Barthelme for The Slightly Irregular Fire Engine or The Hithering Thithering Djinn

Judges That Year: Paul Heins, Lore Segal, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature: Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh by Robert C. O’Brien won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: Clyde Watson is a third-generation children’s book author and illustrator. When she was growing up in Vermont, her father, illustrator Aldren Watson, taught Clyde and her sister Wendy―illustrator of Father Fox’s Pennyrhymes―hand bookbinding, linoleum carving and printing, and watercolor painting in his studio.

Buy the Book: