The Impossible People

By Georgess McHargue

Original Publisher: Holt, Rinehart & Winston
Current Publisher: Out of Print
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Not Available

Children’s Books Finalists That Year:

  • Betsy Byars for The House of Wings
  • Ingri and Edgar Parin d'Aulaire for Trolls
  • Jean Craighead George for Julie of the Wolves
  • Betty Jean Lifton and Thomas C. Fox for Children of Vietnam
  • Georgess McHargue for The Impossible People
  • Zilpha Keatley Snyder for The Witches of Worm
  • William Steig for Dominic

Children’s Books Winner That Year: Ursula K. Le Guin for The Farthest Shore

Judges That Year: Augusta Baker, Ian McDermott, Barbara Wersba

The Year in Literature: Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George won the Newbery Medal.

More Information:

  • McHargue was an active member of the Civil Rights and Feminist Movements of the 1960s and 70s. In an interview, she recounted, “I was splashed with yellow paint at a demonstration on lower Fifth Avenue and partially gassed in front of the Washington Monument.”
  • She also graduated magna cum laude from Harvard University.

Buy the Book: