1982 - Children’s Books, Fiction (Hardcover)

Let the Circle Be Unbroken

By Mildred D. Taylor

Original Publisher: Dial Books (Penguin Group USA Inc.)
Current Publisher: Puffin
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 9 & Up

Children’s Books, Fiction (Hardcover) Finalists That Year:

  • Beverly Cleary for Ramona Quimby, Age 8
  • Deborah Hautzig for Second Star to the Right
  • Mildred D. Taylor for Let the Circle Be Unbroken
  • Cynthia Voigt for Homecoming

Children’s Books, Fiction (Hardcover) Winner That Year: Lloyd Alexander for Westmark

Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature: A Visit to William Blake's Inn: Poems for Innocent and Experienced Travelers by Nancy Willard won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: 

  • Let the Circle Be Unbroken is the sequel to Taylor’s book Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, which was a Finalist in 1977. In a 1989 interview with The Horn Book Magazine, Taylor said she came from a family of storytellers: “I remember my grandparents’ house, the house my great-grandfather had built at the turn of the century, and I remember the adults talking about the past. As they talked I began to visualize all the family who had once known the land, and I felt as if I knew them, too… Many of the stories told were humorous, some were tragic, but all told of the dignity and survival of a people living in a society that allowed them few rights as citizens and treated them as inferiors. Much history was in those stories, and I never tired of hearing them. There were stories about slavery and the days following slavery. There were stories about family and friends.”

Buy the Book: