1983 - Children’s Books, Nonfiction

Journey to the Planets

By Patricia Lauber

Original Publisher: Crown
Current Publisher: Out of Print
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Not Available

Children’s Books, Nonfiction Finalists That Year:

  • Linda Grant De Pauw for Seafaring Women
  • Patricia Lauber for Journey to the Planets
  • John Nance for Lobo of the Tasaday
  • Judith St. George for The Brooklyn Bridge

Children’s Books, Nonfiction Winner That Year: James Cross Giblin for Chimney Sweeps

Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature: Dicey’s Song by Cynthia Voigt won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: Lauber was also a Finalist in 1982 for her book Seeds: Pop, Stick, Glide. In 1983 Lauber was given The Washington Post/Children's Book Guild Award for her overall contribution to children's nonfiction literature.

Buy the Book: