1983 - Children’s Books, Nonfiction Finalists

Seafaring Women

By Linda Grant De Pauw

Original Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
Current & Digital Publisher: Peacock Press

Reading Level: Not Available

Children’s Books, Nonfiction Finalists That Year:

  • Linda Grant De Pauw for Seafaring Women
  • Patricia Lauber for Journey to the Planets
  • John Nance for Lobo of the Tasaday
  • Judith St. George for The Brooklyn Bridge

Children’s Books, Nonfiction Winner That Year: James Cross Giblin for Chimney Sweeps

Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature: Dicey’s Song by Cynthia Voigt won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: Linda Grant De Pauw is the founder and president of the MINERVA Center, an institution devoted to the study of women in the military.

Buy the Book: