1983 - Children’s Books, Picture Books (Hardcover)

Doctor De Soto

Author and Illustrator: William Steig

Original Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Current Publisher: Macmillan
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 3 & Up

Children’s Books, Picture Books (Hardcover) Finalists That Year:

  • Marcia Brown for Shadow
  • Karla Kuskin; Marc Simont, ill. for The Philharmonic Gets Dressed
  • Cynthia Rylant; Diane Goode, ill. For When I Was Young in the Mountains

Children’s Books, Picture Books (Hardcover) Winners That Year:

  • Barbara Cooney for Miss Rumphius
  • William Steig for Doctor De Soto

Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature: Dicey’s Song by Cynthia Voigt won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: 

  • William Steig was a Finalist in 1970 for Sylvester & The Magic Pebble, in 1972 for Amos & Boris, in 1973 for Dominic, and in 1978 for Caleb & Kate.
  • Steig’s 1990 picture book Shrek! was the basis of the widely successful Dreamworks film “Shrek.

Buy the Book: