What Jamie Saw

By Carolyn Coman

Original Publisher: Front Street Books (Boyds Mills Press)
Current & Digital Publisher: Namelos

Reading Level: Ages 14 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Carolyn Coman for What Jamie Saw
  • Nancy Farmer for A Girl Named Disaster
  • Helen Kim for The Long Season of Rain
  • Han Nolan for Send Me Down a Miracle

YPL Winner That Year: Victor Martinez, Parrot in the Oven: Mi Vida

Judges That Year: Lloyd Alexander, Leonard Marcus, Gary Soto, Beatrice Sparks, Joyce Carol Thomas

The Year in Literature: The Midwife's Apprentice by Karen Cushman won the Newbery Medal.

More Information:

  • Carolyn Coman was also a Finalist in 2000 for Many Stones.
  • When talking about the importance and difficulty of teaching writing in classrooms Carolyn Coman said, “The idea of putting something that you care about in words, on paper, that will then be shared with others, is a scary proposition. It takes courage to do that, to let yourself be seen, to be vulnerable.”

Buy the Book: