Mean Margaret

By Tor Seidler

Original Publisher: HarperCollins
Current Publisher: Out of Print
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 8 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Brock Cole for The Facts Speak for Themselves
  • Adele Griffin for Sons of Liberty
  • Mary Ann McGuigan for Where You Belong
  • Tor Seidler for Mean Margaret

YPL Winner That Year: Han Nolan for Dancing on the Edge

Judges That Year: Michael Cart, Julius Lester, Robert Lipsyte, Lois Lowry, Katherine Paterson

The Year in Literature: The View from Saturday by E.L. Konigsburg won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: 

  • In Mean Margaret, as in many of his other books, Tor Seidler worked with an illustrator. He said it’s always exciting to work with illustrators who bring their own observations and suggestions about his book, and that often these suggestions lead to significant changes in his text.
  • You can read about Tor’s pick for The Book That Changed My Life here.

Buy the Book: