The Birchbark House

By Louise Erdrich

Current Publisher: Hyperion
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 9 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Laurie Halse Anderson for Speak
  • Louise Erdrich for The Birchbark House
  • Polly Horvath for The Trolls
  • Walter Dean Myers for Monster

YPL Winner That Year: Kimberly Willis Holt for When Zachary Beaver Came to Town

Judges That Year: Veronica Chambers, Mary Ann McGuigan, Hazel Rochman, Zena Sutherland, Roger Sutton

The Year in Literature: Holes by Louis Sachar won the Newbery Medal. 

More Information: 

  • Louise Erdrich was also a Fiction Finalist in 2001 for The Last Report on the Miracles at Little No Horse, and won the National Book Award for Fiction in 2012 for The Round House.
  • Erdrich owns and operates Birchbark Books, an independent bookstore that “provides a locus for Native intellectual life,” serving the large Native population in Minneapolis/St. Paul as well as non-Native dwellers. Birchbark’s inventory also includes Native crafts and artwork.

Buy the Book: