The Trolls

By Polly Horvath

Original Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Current Publisher: Squarefish (Macmillan)
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 9 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Laurie Halse Anderson for Speak
  • Louise Erdrich for The Birchbark House
  • Polly Horvath for The Trolls
  • Walter Dean Myers for Monster

YPL Winner That Year: Kimberly Willis Holt for When Zachary Beaver Came to Town

Judges That Year: Veronica Chambers, Mary Ann McGuigan, Hazel Rochman, Zena Sutherland, Roger Sutton

The Year in Literature: Holes by Louis Sachar won the Newbery Medal. 

More Information: Horvath won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature in 2003 for The Canning Season.

Buy the Book: