Forgotten Fire

By Adam Bagdasarian

Original Publisher: Dorling Kindersley Press
 Current Publisher: Laurel-Leaf (Random House)
 Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 14 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Adam Bagdasarian for Forgotten Fire
  • Michael Cadnum for The Book of the Lion
  • Carolyn Coman for Many Stones
  • Jerry Stanley for Hurry Freedom: African Americans in Gold Rush California

YPL Winner That Year: Gloria Whelan for Homeless Bird

Judges That Year: Khafre Abif, Kathleen Burke, Brock Cole, Norma Fox Mazer, Lois Metzger Hiss

The Year in Literature: Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis won the Newbery Medal. Monster by Walter Dean Myers was the first recipient of the Printz Award.

More Information: In 2001, Adam Bagdasarian visited with a group of Armenian students in Michigan and did a reading from Forgotten Fire, which is based on his great-uncle’s experiences during the 1915 Armenian genocide. A video of this reading is available on the C-SPAN website, here: www.c-spanvideo.org/program/Forgott.

Buy the Book: