Hurry Freedom: African Americans in Gold Rush California

By Jerry Stanley

Original Publisher: Crown (Random House)
Current Publisher: Out of Print
 Digital Publisher: Out of Print

Reading Level: Ages 14 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Adam Bagdasarian for Forgotten Fire
  • Michael Cadnum for The Book of the Lion
  • Carolyn Coman for Many Stones
  • Jerry Stanley for Hurry Freedom: African Americans in Gold Rush California

YPL Winner That Year: Gloria Whelan for Homeless Bird

Judges That Year: Khafre Abif, Kathleen Burke, Brock Cole, Norma Fox Mazer, Lois Metzger Hiss

The Year in Literature: Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis won the Newbery Medal. Monster by Walter Dean Myers was the first recipient of the Printz Award.

More Information: Jerry Stanley has said of writing, “I’ve learned there’s no such thing as wasted writing or bad writing. All writing leads to better writing.”

Buy the Book: