By Paul Fleischman

Original Publisher: Cricket Books
Current Publisher: Simon Pulse (Simon & Schuster)
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 12 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Paul Fleischman for Breakout
  • Jim Murphy for An American Plague: The True and Terrifying Story of the Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1793
  • Richard Peck for The River Between Us
  • Jacqueline Woodson for Locomotion

YPL Winner That Year: Polly Horvath for The Canning Season

Judges That Year: Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Lulu Delacre, Jean Craighead George, Barbara Harrison, Margaret Tice

The Year in Literature: Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi won the Newbery Medal. Postcards from No Man’s Land by Aidan Chambers won the Printz Award.

More Information: Paul Fleischman grew up hearing his father, award-winning YA author Sid Fleischman, read his books aloud chapter by chapter as he wrote them. Sid and Paul both won the Newbery Medal, Sid for The Whipping Boy in 1987, and Paul for Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices in 1989.

Buy the Book: