The Penderwicks

By Jeanne Birdsall

Original Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf (Random House)
 Current & Digital Publisher: Yearling (Random House)

Reading Level: Ages 8 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Adele Griffin for Where I Want to Be
  • Chris Lynch for  Inexcusable
  • Walter Dean Myers for Autobiography of My Dead Brother
  • Deborah Wiles for Each Little Bird That Sings

YPL Winner That Year: Jeanne Birdsall for The Penderwicks

Judges That Year: Mari Evans, Claudia Mills, Jim Murphy, Liz Rosenberg, Rita Williams-Garcia

The Year in Literature: Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata won the Newbery Medal. How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff won the Printz Award.

More Information: In her National Book Award acceptance speech, Jeanne Birdsall said the best review she received for her debut novel, The Penderwicks, was from a third grader named Scott. Scott said, “This book is about being a good listener even if you’re a grown up.”

Buy the Book: