Autobiography of My Dead Brother

By Walter Dean Myers

Original Publisher: HarperTempest (HarperCollins)
Current & Digital Publisher: Amistad (HarperCollins)

Reading Level: Ages 13 & Up 

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Adele Griffin for Where I Want to Be
  • Chris Lynch for Inexcusable
  • Walter Dean Myers for Autobiography of My Dead Brother
  • Deborah Wiles for Each Little Bird That Sings

YPL Winner That Year: Jeanne Birdsall for The Penderwicks

Judges That Year: Mari Evans, Claudia Mills, Jim Murphy, Liz Rosenberg, Rita Williams-Garcia

The Year in Literature: Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata won the Newbery Medal. How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff won the Printz Award.

More Information:  

  • Walter Dean Myers was also a Finalist in 1999 for Monster and in 2011 for Lockdown.
  • Considered one of the preeminent writers of young people’s literature, Myers has written almost 100 books in a career spanning over forty years.

Buy the Book: