Each Little Bird That Sings

By Deborah Wiles

Original Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Current Publisher: Sandpiper (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 8 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Adele Griffin for Where I Want to Be
  • Chris Lynch for Inexcusable
  • Walter Dean Myers for Autobiography of My Dead Brother
  • Deborah Wiles for Each Little Bird That Sings

YPL Winner That Year: Jeanne Birdsall for The Penderwicks

Judges That Year: Mari Evans, Claudia Mills, Jim Murphy, Liz Rosenberg, Rita Williams-Garcia

The Year in Literature: Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata won the Newbery Medal. How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff won the Printz Award.

More Information:  Each Little Bird That Sings is the second book in the Aurora County Trilogy, a collection of novels that is based largely on Wiles’ own experiences growing up in the south. The Trilogy takes place in the fictional Aurora County, Mississippi, which is really Jasper County, Mississippi, the place where Wiles spent most of her childhood summers.

Buy the Book: