The Rules of Survival

By Nancy Werlin

Original Publisher: Dial Books (Penguin Group USA Inc.)
Current & Digital Publisher: Speak (Penguin Group USA Inc.)

Reading Level: Ages 12 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Martine Leavitt for Keturah and Lord Death
  • Patricia McCormick for Sold
  • Nancy Werlin for The Rules of Survival
  • Gene Luen Yang  for American Born Chinese

YPL Winner That Year:  M.T. Anderson for The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Vol. 1: The Pox Party

Judges That Year: Margaret Bechard, Patricia McKissack, Linda Sue Park, Benjamin Alire Sáenz, Jude Watson

The Year in Literature: Criss Cross by Lynne Rae Perkins won the Newbery Medal. Looking for Alaska by John Green won the Printz Award.

More Information: After witnessing a “scary little incident” of child abuse in a convenience store, Nancy Werlin wrote a short story called “Safe” in which a narrator witnesses a parent screaming and shaking his child in a supermarket. She said the story “wouldn’t leave me alone” and began writing The Rules of Survival shortly thereafter.

Buy the Book: