Lips Touch: Three Times

By Laini Taylor

Current & Digital Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books (Scholastic)

Reading Level: Ages 12 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Deborah Heiligman for Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith
  • David Small for Stitches
  • Laini Taylor for Lips Touch: Three Times
  • Rita Williams-Garcia for Jumped

YPL Winner That Year: Phillip Hoose for Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice

Judges That Year: Kathi Appelt, Coe Booth, Carolyn Coman, Nancy Werlin, Gene Luen Yang

The Year in Literature: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman won the Newbery Medal.  Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta won the Printz Award.

More Information: Laini Taylor said that poetry had a big influence on how she approaches writing. She thinks about the sound and flow of her sentences as much as what they say. “For me, the writing process has two equally important components: the storytelling and the prose-craft, and though I love both, I think it’s when I’m tinkering with words that I’m happiest.”

Buy the Book: