One Crazy Summer

By Rita Williams-Garcia

Current & Digital Publisher: Amistad (HarperCollins)

Reading Level: Ages 8 & Up

YPL Finalists That Year:

  • Paolo Bacigalupi for Ship Breaker
  • Laura McNeal for Dark Water
  • Walter Dean Myers for Lockdown
  • Rita Williams-Garcia for One Crazy Summer

YPL Winner That Year: Kathryn Erksine for Mockingbird

Judges That Year: Laban Carrick Hill, Kelly Link, Tor Seidler, Hope Anita Smith, Sara Zarr

The Year in Literature: When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead won the Newbery Medal.  Going Bovine by Libba Bray won the Printz Award.

More Information: Rita Williams-Garcia was previously a Finalist for the National Book Award in 2009 for Jumped, which won the PEN/Norma Klein Award.

Buy the Book: