Sylvester and the Magic Pebble

By William Steig

Original Publisher: Scholastic
Current Publisher: Little Simon
 (Simon & Schuster)
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 3 & Up

Children’s Books Finalists That Year:

  • Vera and Bill Cleaver for Where the Lilies Bloom
  • Edna Mitchell Preston for Pop Corn and Ma Goodness
  • William Steig for Sylvester and the Magic Pebble
  • Edwin Tunis for The Young United States, 1783-1830

Children’s Books Winner That Year: Isaac Bashevis Singer for A Day of Pleasure: Stories of a Boy Growing up in Warsaw

Judges That Year: Barbara Bader, Frank Jennings, William Jay Smith

The Year in Literature: Sounder by William H. Armstrong won the Newbery Medal.

More Information:

  • William Steig was also a Finalist in 1972 for Amos & Boris, in 1973 for Dominic, and in1978 for Caleb & Kate. He won the National Book Award for Children’s Books in 1983 for Doctor De Soto.
  • The audiobook edition of Sylvester and the Magic Pebble is read by the actor James Earl Jones.
  • Steig’s 1990 picture book Shrek! was the basis of the widely successful Dreamworks film “Shrek.

Buy the Book: