M.C. Higgins the Great

By Virginia Hamilton

Original Publisher: Macmillan
Current Publisher: Aladdin Books (Simon & Schuster)
Digital Publisher: Open Road Integrated Media

Reading Level: Ages 8 & Up

Children's Books Finalists That Year:

  • Natalie Babbitt for The Devil's Storybook
  • Bruce Buchenholz for Doctor in the Zoo
  • Bruce Clements for I Tell a Lie Every So Often
  • James Lincoln Collier and Christopher Collier for My Brother Sam Is Dead
  • Jason Laure and Ettagale Laure for Joi Bangla! The Children of Bangladesh
  • Milton Meltzer for World of Our Fathers
  • Milton Meltzer for Remember the Days
  • Adrienne Richard for Wings
  • Mary Stolz for The Edge of Next Year
  • Jane Yolen for The Girl Who Cried Flowers and Other Tales 

Children’s Books Winner That Year: Virginia Hamilton for M.C. Higgins the Great

Judges That Year: Lloyd Alexander, Betsy Hearne, Nat Hentoff

The Year in Literature: M.C. Higgins the Great by Virginia Hamilton also won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: 

  • Virginia Hamilton was a Finalist for Children’s Books in 1972 for The Planet of Junior Brown and in 1983 for Sweet Whispers, Brother Rush.
  • Over the course of her career Hamilton was awarded the Coretta-Scott King Award, the Boston-Globe Horn Award, the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, and many others.

Buy the Book: