The First Two Lives of Lukas-Kasha

By Lloyd Alexander

Original Publisher: Dutton
Current Publisher: Out of Print
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Not Available

Children’s Literature Finalists That Year:

  • Lloyd Alexander for The First Two Lives of Lukas-Kasha
  • Vera and Bill Cleaver for Queen of Hearts
  • Sid Fleischman for Humbug Mountain
  • Paula Fox for The Little Swineherd and Other Tales

Children’s Literature Winner That Year: Katherine Paterson for The Great Gilly Hopkins

Judges That Year: Eleanor Cameron, Robert Coles, Priscilla Moxom

The Year in Literature: The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: Alexander won the National ook Award for Children’s Books in 1971 and 1982 for The Marvelous Misadventures of Sebastian and Westmark respectively. He was a Finalist in 1969 for the hardcover edition of The High King, in 1981 for the paperback edition, in 1982 for The Wizard in the Tree, and in 1983 for the second book of the Westmark Trilogy, The Kestrel.

Buy the Book: