Queen of Hearts

By Vera and Bill Cleaver

Original Publisher: J.B. Lippincott & Company
Current Publisher: Out of Print
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Not Available

Children’s Literature Finalists That Year:

  • Lloyd Alexander for The First Two Lives of Lukas-Kasha
  • Vera and Bill Cleaver for Queen of Hearts
  • Sid Fleischman for Humbug Mountain
  • Paula Fox for The Little Swineherd and Other Tales

Children’s Literature Winner That Year: Katherine Paterson for The Great Gilly Hopkins

Judges That Year: Eleanor Cameron, Robert Coles, Priscilla Moxom

The Year in Literature: The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: 

  • The Cleavers met when Bill was serving in the U.S. Air Force. Together they wrote more than a dozen children’s books until Bill’s death in 1981. Vera has continued to write children’s books on her own.
  • The Cleavers were also Finalists in 1970 for Where the Lilies Bloom, in 1971 for Grover, and in 1974 for The Whys and Wherefores of Littabelle Lee.

Buy the Book: