1981 - Children’s Books, Fiction (Hardcover)

The Night Swimmers

By Betsy Byars

Original Publisher: Delacorte Press
Current Publisher: Out of Print
Digital Publisher: Open Road Integrated Media

Reading Level: Ages 9 & Up

Children’s Books, Fiction (Hardcover) Finalists That Year:

  • Paula Fox for A Place Apart
  • Katherine Paterson for Jacob Have I Loved
  • Ouida Sebestyen for Far From Home
  • Jan Slepian for The Alfred Summer

Children’s Books, Fiction (Hardcover) Winner That Year: Betsy Byars for The Night Swimmers

Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature: Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson won the Newbery Medal.

More Information:

  • Byars has been writing since 1962 and her books have been translated in more than nineteen languages. She won the Newbery Medal in 1971 for her novel The Summer of the Swans.
  • Byars was previously a Finalist for Children’s Books in 1973 for The House of Wings.

Buy  the Book: