1981 - Children’s Books, Fiction (Hardcover)

A Place Apart

By Paula Fox

Original Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Current Publisher: Out of Print
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Not Available

Children’s Books, Fiction (Hardcover) Finalists That Year:

  • Paula Fox for A Place Apart
  • Katherine Paterson for Jacob Have I Loved
  • Ouida Sebestyen for Far From Home
  • Jan Slepian for The Alfred Summer

Children’s Books, Fiction (Hardcover) Winner That Year: Betsy Byars for The Night Swimmers

Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature: Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: Paula Fox won the National Book Award for Children’s Books, Fiction in 1971 for Blowfish Live in the Sea, in 1979 for The Little Swineherd and Other Tales, andin 1983 for her paperback edition of A Place Apart.

Buy the Book: