By William Steig

Original Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Current Publisher: Squarefish (Macmillan)
Digital Publisher: Not Available

Reading Level: Ages 6 & Up

Children’s Books Finalists That Year:

  • Betsy Byars for The House of Wings
  • Ingri and Edgar Parin d'Aulaire for Trolls
  • Jean Craighead George for Julie of the Wolves
  • Betty Jean Lifton and Thomas C. Fox for Children of Vietnam
  • Georgess McHargue for The Impossible People
  • Zilpha Keatley Snyder for The Witches of Worm
  • William Steig for Dominic

Children’s Books Winner That Year: Ursula K. Le Guin for The Farthest Shore

Judges That Year: Augusta Baker, Ian McDermott, Barbara Wersba

The Year in Literature: Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George won the Newbery Medal.

More Information: 

  • William Steig was also a Finalist in 1970 for Sylvester and the Magic Pebble, in 1972 for Amos & Boris, and in 1978 for Caleb & Kate. He won the National Book Award for Children’s Books for Doctor De Soto in 1983.
  • Steig’s 1990 picture book Shrek! was the basis of the widely successful Dreamworks film “Shrek.

Buy the Book: